Single

 

 

February 11 is Satisfied Being Single Day. So, I wrote a poem about being single! It’s in the style of an etheree poem, which is basically when the syllables count down (10, 9, 8, 7, etc.) or up (1, 2, 3, etc.). The etheree I wrote has both of this, it goes down, and then makes its way back up. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

 

 

Everyone says the single life is the best;

Solitude will build my character.

The only worry will be me;

Act on my soul desires;

It’s a dream for many –

And it is my life.

I won’t let it

Be taken

From me.

Free.

Solo.

Waiting?

Prince Charming?

No. No thank you.

Life is good without.

Boys as friends is my life –

I cannot live without them.

Relationships ruin friendships

It always happens – I won’t risk it.

Courageous, independent. I’m single.

2 thoughts on “Single

  1. I read this poem in Roadside Assistance, and appreciated the comments and questions after it. But I did have a question of my own for the poem itself. Is this intended to be ironic? The top half has me thinking so (a Christian lauding the opportunity to think only of oneself) and the last couple lines at the end where you have, butting up against each other “I won’t risk it” and the word “Courageous,” are certainly ironic.

    But I worry if some reading this in Roadside Assistance might miss the irony (lots of people have problems understanding poetry) and take the poem to heart thinking, then, that it is courageous to be risk adverse.

    • Hi,

      thank you for leaving a comment! My apologies for replying so late to it.

      I did not specially intend to be ironic in this poem. I intended it more to have the message that it’s ok to be single and that we don’t need to have a significant other to be happy or succeed in life.

      “I won’t risk it” is actually part of the line before it when saying that relationships ruin friendships. It is saying that the author doesn’t want to risk a good friendship with someone for a relationship which might fail in the end.

      Hopefully this answers your question! 🙂

Leave a Reply

