No – Day 20

Day 20: Write a page long exchange between two very different people. Write only what they say; no setting, internal thinking, description, or actions.

I chose to write from one of my older characters, Morgan, who is now in high school and got accepted into a university across America…. Well, you’ll figure the rest out from the dialogue.

“Could you at least be happy for me?!”

“Morgan, I am happy.”

“Then why are you suggesting we break up?”

“I’m not, it’s just that –.”

“Just what, Brandon? If that’s how you see it, we’re done.”

“No! I don’t want us to be done, Morgs. I want us to be together.”

“I’m sensing a ‘but’.”

“There is none!”

“Don’t lie to me, Brandon.”

“I’m not!”

“You are. I can see it in your eyes.”

“Fine. But I do not want to move with you across the country! That would be ridiculous, especially since I got accepted into a local university.”

“We can make it work, Brandon.”

“No, we can’t, Morgan.”

“Why? Why can’t we have a long distance relationship? Why do you have to be so difficult? Why can’t we just be like a ‘normal’ couple and not argue over the tinniest thing!”

“This is not a tiny thing, Morgan!”

“You’re right. It’s not. But you’re making it a bigger deal than it is!”

“I’m not turning down my university application.”

“I’m not asking you to, Brandon.”

“Then what are you asking?”

“That we try to make it work as a long-distance couple!”

“No.”

“Why?”

“Because I don’t want to.”

“Fine.”

“Fine what?”

“Then we’re over, Brandon. Goodbye.”

Leave a Reply

